Piazza Céramique / Jo Janssen Architecten

Piazza Céramique / Jo Janssen Architecten

  • banner 1
  • banner 2


As one of the last urban blocks to be realized in the ‘Ceramique – Area’ of Maastricht the scheme does not opt for the here common solution of the closed perimeter block, but employs a spatial strategy in which urban space is opened up. Through strategically placing 3 volumes it not only makes that the public space flows though the site, but it also involves the triangular green area to its east into this interlinking of urban spaces.


The program to be housed within the block was that of an integrated form of dwelling and working. In terms of typology the project tries to revive the 19th century type of mansion annex practice usually inhabited by lawyers, doctors, architects etc. Characteristic for this type of integrated house and practice was the separation of entrances, leading to the public practice and the private house.


So one of the themes informing the design of these integrated apartments is the double entry en the psychological split (eventually even a split in level) between the more private space of the family and for living and the more public space for working and receiving clients. Another result of the synergy of integrating dwelling and working within the same block is the possibility to create a more spacious entry hall then the one usually possible in a Dutch housing project. In this case it is a glassed atrium that acts as a sort of public lobby for both the apartments and the workspaces


Also the choice of construction was an uncommon one for a housing project. Normally the floors span from apartment to apartment, however to keep the subdivision of the integrated apartments as flexible as possible the floors in this project span from the outer façade to an inner ring of service spaces, which concentrates all infrastructure.


Extra info

Project architects:
Jo Janssen, Jeroen van Haaren, Wim van den Bergh, Simon Zumstein

Vesteda Project bv Maastricht

18970.0 sqm

Project Year:


Bart Creugers, Harm Saanen, Eckehart Esters, Julia David, Ivo Rosbeek, Verena Bick, Inge Clauwers, Rob Janssen, Rik Martens, Guido Neijnens, Anilu Léon Sanchez, Corinne Simon